New Year’s Resolutions


Resolutions for the ‘New Year’… I’ve been thinking about this a lot today…
With The Husband ill in bed and the dark grey clouds and rain outside, it’s been one of those days: I’ve literally felt like a tiger locked in a cage and, although I don’t usually make New Years resolutions, today it felt right to make some.
What I regret most about 2013 is the amount of time and energy I’ve dedicated to the wrong people. In doing so, I’ve neglected people that were far more deserving of my time and received nothing (except headaches) in return. No more. And hence, my unofficial New Years resolution is to surround myself with positive people.
An article I found particularly interesting in this regard is:

http://fabafter40.tumblr.com/post/48920901055/10-traits-of-a-toxic-friend

And so I say “Enough with toxic friendships!”

My other unofficial New Years resolutions are:
i) to look for the good in others;
ii) imagine positive outcomes;
iii) pour my heart out for those I love.

I may well have more by the time Tuesday arrives, but for now it’s just those Fabulous Four.

And my ‘Official’ New Years resolution is: to get fit. I used to be a marathon running, Thai boxing champ.
Now I’m delighted if I run 10km in an hour and if i can defend myself from one of Thing 2′s roundhouse kicks. “What the helmet!” as Thing 2 would say. Readers! it is definitely time to get fit and healthy. This girl’s fed up of feeling old and haggard. She’s definitely got a few marathons left in her and maybe even some sparring sessions with those tattooed Italian kick boxers at the gym.
2014 – I’m going to kick my ass!

About Miss Fanny P

Mother to two boys (a 5 and a half year old and a 3 year old), living the expat life in Italy, a stone's throw away from the lakes and the mountains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions

  1. laflor5233 says:

    After eating 2 tamales, I’m thinking about fitness myself.

  2. Angela Death says:

    Excellent unofficial and official resolutions! Good luck with them.

  3. Choosing says:

    Good lists, the unofficial as well as the official one! I would be delighted if I could run 10km at all! ;-) After all those Christmas cookies and other temptations I will definitely need some salad weeks in January… so one resolution for me would be “healthy eating”!

  4. Miriam says:

    I also learned to stay away from toxic people- took me many years and way too much drama and negativity; but I finally figured it out. Life is much more peaceful now, and I’m pretty cautious with new friendships, take my time and trust my instincts. Good luck!

  5. Me says:

    Wonderful resolutions!

  6. suzjones says:

    Hello dear,
    I am awarding you the Sisterhood of the World blogging award should you choose to accept it. I won’t be offended if you don’t :)
    http://suzjones.wordpress.com/2013/12/29/end-of-year-awards-part-2/

  7. loulouloves says:

    Love the idea of surrounding yourself with positive people! I’m doing the same. Happy 2014.

  8. Full of positivity. I haven’t given any thought to resolutions….as yet. But there are one or two here I could attempt to emulate. :) x

  9. Eliza Waters says:

    Love your resolutions, may we all adopt them as our own, except maybe the 10K run and kickboxing (LOL). Re: toxic relationships, I think of my time spent with these folks (the ones I simply cannot avoid) as charitable donations. And the ancient formula for that is 10%, so they are not allowed to take more than 10% of my time. These people can truly make you ill, so I give them a wide berth. Speaking of ill, I hope hubbie is feeling much better – so who has he been hanging out with lately? Must be those folks that invited themselves on your holiday!

  10. Miss Fanny P says:

    they didn’t come in the end :-)

  11. andy1076 says:

    Cheers to your goals! I’m still scribbling down which ones mine will be lol! thank you for coming by my blog at dragoneystory.wordpress.com ^.^/

  12. Sarah Day says:

    Wishing you the best on your quest for 2014. And impressed that you even had one marathon in you. Cheers!

  13. Shannon says:

    I don’t know if you read my post about resolutions NOT to make, but I have to say, I love yours! I definitely agree with all of them, and they are ones I am working on myself as well. It’s only been a month, but its amazing how much your brain actually shapes your world and when you change the way you think, everything is changed (in a good way). Good luck and happy new year.

  14. Miss Fanny P says:

    I did read it. And I agree wholeheartedly. I often find its easier to make NY resolutions after the summer but what the helmet.. We must go with tradition.

  15. Shannon says:

    Lol. You are right, you can technically make them any time you want, but it’s all about tradition.

  16. larva225 says:

    I’m hoping to kick my ass as well. Happy new year!

  17. Dakota says:

    You go girl!

  18. Miss Fanny P says:

    to you too :-)

  19. Miss Fanny P says:

    well…let’s see how we go ;-)

  20. Great resolutions. I thought about a ‘be more positive’ kind of one, but I lasted until 12.15am. PMT, sleep deprivation and terrible weather (trapped indoors with the kids for days) do not combine well to produce zen positivity. I guess, looking for the upside, it can only get better! ;)
    Wishing you a happy, healthy, fit, zen New Year!

  21. Thank you for stopping by my blog today, and I must admit, I think I’m going to steal your resolutions. Even though I usually don’t make any… ;-) Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

